HR Manager Functions
An HR Manager has edit access to all teams and their members. HR Managers are involved in managing people within the system - adding new starters, removing leavers and changes to team structures such as approval flows and parent teams.
The HR Manager has access to the following additional menu items - Reporting, Organization, Add Employee, Roles & Access and Leave Admin.
From Reporting, HR Managers are able to run reports which will give them results relating to all employees across all teams. They are also able to access reports made by others.
The Add Employee option gives you access to add an employee in three different ways: manually, import from CSV or import from integrated account (e.g. Google Workspace or Office 365).
HR Managers are able to give roles to individuals by going to Roles and Access, this is also where you would configure self service.
Leave Admin is where you would set up Work Profiles and other Leave related administration tools such as the Allowance Calculator, Adjust Allowance Range tool, Bulk Adjust Allowances and administer Backfill.
Admins have the ability to configure the system, but are not able to see any employee data, other than their own. Admins will have all the functions listed above in HR Manager Functions, as well as Process Config, System Config and Licensing.
Process Config is split into HR Configuration and Leave Configuration, which are again split into different functionalities. Under HR Configuration it's possible to edit and configure Categories & Fields, determine Field and Record Security, and configure Company Document Types and their security.
It's possible to be HR Manager or Admin, but it's also very likely that you will have both roles, to give you full administration rights to the system. You can check which role you have by going to Roles & Access from the left menu. It's not possible to remove Admin access from your own account, but it is possible to grant it if you're an HR Manager already. You can remove HR Manager access from your own account and also grant it if you're an Admin. All other Admins and HR Managers will be notified by email of any change and all changes are audited.
Once you're logged in, you'll be presented with the Dashboard, this is split into 3 sections - My Actions, My Teams and My Summary. Your actions is split into your Leave Requests and other Actions relating to Checklists or Company Documents. My Teams shows information about employees (use the drop down to switch between Teams) including any Actions they need to take as well as a summary of their allowances, and finally your Summary shows your personal content in the Year at a Glance Calendar.
As HR Manager you are able to use the dropdown in the Team widgets to change teams.
As Admin you are able to view the same widgets an Employee would see - data associated with you.
At the top of your Dashboard is an Employee ribbon which defaults to you. When you change views in Appogee HR by using the left-hand menu, you will retain the same user in the Employee ribbon so you always know which employee you are reviewing information about.
From the Dashboard, you may access information of employees you manage, by using the employee switcher in the top right corner. This powerful feature allows you to switch between users while you keep the same context within Appogee HR. If, for example, you want to review Personal Information for each member of your team, you can select Personal from the main menu and then switch through each team member in the Employee Switcher.
As HR Manager you are able to view all employees in this list and switch to anyone's profile using the switcher.
As Admin you cannot see the employee switcher.
The Directory is where you can find other employees in your organisation. As HR Manager, you are able to configure up to two more custom columns on the Directory. For more information see here: Employee Directory.
You can also view your employees by Team. This shows you their name, job title, how long they've been in their role and their bio. Employee bios can be configured on their Personal page.
The Organization chart is built up from the Team profiles where they define the Parent Team. Click Show Members to view all employees.
Admins are able to configure who can see the various sections of the Directory by going to System Config > General Settings > Directory.
Any Company Document that has been made visible to you can be found in Company Docs. You can look at them by Company Document Type or see all of them in a list. The table shows you the read and edit permissions for these documents.
As an HR Manager, you have the ability to upload, edit and manage Company Documents. You will also have the ability to create different Company Document Types, in order to sort your Company Documents. For each Company Document, you can set up acknowledgements which can be sent to employees on a user or team basis. They will then be notified of any documents they need to read and acknowledge.
See the following article for more information on Company Documents: Appogee HR: Company Documents.
HR Managers have access to the Company Documents page where they can upload documents. Admins have the ability to administer Company Document Types, but not the ability to upload Company Docs.
A Checklist is a to-do list which sets out a series of steps that will be required to complete a workflow process.
By creating templates for frequently used Checklists you can ensure staff can follow a consistent set of steps when encountering a situation they are not used to doing on a daily basis - such as hiring a new member of staff or carrying out a performance review.
As an HR Manager, you will be able to create and assign Checklists to users and as Team Manager you'll be able to do this for employees you manage.
HR Managers have the ability to create and assign Checklists and Checklist templates. Admins have the ability to see their own Checklists.
Actions & Notifications
Actions and Notifications can be viewed on the Dashboard, or alternatively in the Alerts Panel from anywhere in the system.
You can complete the action by clicking the button and notifications can be dismissed using the red cross button.
HR Managers have the ability to create and assign Actions and Notifications, Admins can only see their own.
If you have Appogee HR, you're very likely to have access to Leave too, for instructions on how to use this, please see the following HR Manager and Admin User Guide.
Setting up Approval Flows is an important part of the process to ensure that Leave / Sickness Requests go to the right person.
Go to Leave Admin > Work Profiles > Approval Flows
Here you can create Approval Flows for all teams and select a Primary Approver as well as any Alternate Approvers the team requires. You can also Edit and Delete any existing Approval Flows.
HR Success - Performance, 360 Feeback and Requesting Reviews
Employees can be involved in Performance Reviews in 3 different ways:
If your manager has set up a Performance Review for you, they may request your Employee-Self Assessment comments. These will be questions for you to answer and add your own comments to, which are then submitted back to your manager for review.
When your manager asks you to submit your Employee Self-Assessment, you are emailed with the information and you will receive a notification in the application. Both the email and the notification will have a link to take you to your self-assessment section.
A manager may request your feedback about a colleague using the 360 Feedback feature. This will send you an email and an in-app notification asking you to submit your comments. You can decline the feedback request with a comment if you feel you cannot review this particular employee.
If you feel you are entitled to a review, or would like your Manager to initiate a review for you, you can send them a request.
Go to Performance > Reviews and click the Request Review button in the right corner.
If you have more than one Manager, you can choose who to send the request to, and add a comment.
This will send them a request to either accept and start a review for you, or decline the request. They will need to add a reason if they decline it, and you will be notified if this happens.