The two instances where an employee can make a cancellation is when the request is Pending for approval or when the request has been Approved:
- If the request is still Pending approval, the time requested will be added back to their allowance without any approval needed.
- If the request has already been Approved, then the request will have to be approved by their approver(s). At this point, the request's status is 'Cancel Request'.
The work-flow from making a new request to cancellation of an Approved request is as follows:
- User makes a request (Request status is now Pending)
- Approver approves request (Request status is now Approved)
- User's allowance is deducted
- User makes a cancellation (Request is still Approved and is now said to be a Cancel Request)
- Approver approves cancellation (Request is Cancelled)
- User's allowance is increased